自1851年起,用玻璃和材料科技改善我们的生活

自1851年起,用玻璃和材料科技改善我们的生活

概览

165多年以来,康宁通过玻璃和材料科学攻克技术难题,并改善人们的生活。

我们的创新让空气更清新,让信息传输更快,推动科学及医疗领域的新发现,改变着人们与环境以及彼此之间的互动方式。

这是我们的故事。

1851

1851

在认识到玻璃作为建筑材料的价值后,商人Amory Houghton Sr.在马萨诸塞州萨默维尔建立了一家小型玻璃公司。为了改善原材料采购和运输,公司先是迁移到布鲁克林,不久后又迁到了纽约州康宁,将这个农业小镇转变为一个玻璃创新中心。康宁玻璃工厂拥有100多年的历史,此后更名为康宁公司,以突显其对高科技的关注和全球影响力。

1877

1877

当时,传统的铁路信号灯需要脊线使光线聚焦,但积聚的尘垢会使信号灯变暗,导致事铁路故频繁发生。康宁公司设计了一种表面光滑的信号灯玻璃,这一革命性的创新不仅为公司赢得了第一项专利,也开启了与铁路公司的持续合作。此后,为了继续提高安全,康宁还推出了可提高可视度的彩色透镜以及可防碎的低膨胀玻璃。

1879

1879

康宁为托马斯·爱迪生的白炽灯制作了首个玻璃灯罩。紧接着,康宁研究创造的经济且大规模的灯泡生产方法,使电灯走入了寻常百姓家。

1915

1915

康宁公司一位物理学家Jesse Littleton博士,让妻子Bessie在一块耐热玻璃上烤蛋糕。而这一次偶然的试验,让康宁公司发明了PYREX® 玻璃,从而成功创造出一系列高度耐用的炊具和行业领先的实验室仪器。

1932

1932

在实验室里进行铸补时,有机化学家J. Franklin Hyde博士开发出了高纯度熔融二氧化硅,从望远镜反射镜到移动电话的3D传感元件,这种材料成为很多创新的基础,

1934

1934

康宁首次合成出一种新物质——有机硅树脂,并开发出广泛应用于粘合剂、密封剂和润滑剂等市场应用。在这项创新的推动下,合资公司道康宁于1943年成立,到目前为止已经有70多年历史。

1935

1935

康宁为帕罗马山海尔望远镜制造出了一块200英寸的玻璃,这也是当时全球最大的单片玻璃。这项创新帮助天文学家确定了宇宙是由数十亿个星系构成的。康宁后来又为哈勃、双子和斯巴鲁望远镜制造了镜片。

1939

1939

在纽约市举办的世界博览会上,康宁的9英寸循环圆形阴极射线管在美国无线电公司 (RCA) 的未来电视机展示中展出。10年间,康宁设计的大规模生产电视机显像管的工艺,使电视机走进了千家万户。

1952

1952

S. Donald. Stookey博士在一次意外的试验中发明了一种材料,可以承受极端温度的变化,且跌落在地上也不会碎。这一发现催生了一种新型的玻璃陶瓷材料,该革命性的新材料被称为CorningWare®,康宁材料家庭从而迎来新成员——玻璃陶瓷。

1961

1961

康宁还为水星计划提供了耐热舷窗,帮助第一批美国人安全进入太空。现在,康宁仍在继续为每一艘美国载人飞船和国际空间站制造舷窗玻璃。

1964

1964

康宁科学家Stuart Dockerty 和 Clint Shay发明了溢流熔融制程用来生产极度平整和纯净的玻璃。这种“溢流玻璃”后来成为康宁生产液晶显示器玻璃基板,康宁®大猩猩®玻璃和其他工业用创新玻璃的主要工艺制程。

1970

1970

通信系统受到技术挑战,运营商正在寻求提升能传输能力的方法。Robert Maurer、Donald Keck和Peter Schultz博士研发出的第一款低损耗光纤,引领了一场通信革命。

1972

1972

汽车制造商希望尽快找到一种技术来应对1970年出来的全新《清洁空气法》。Rodney Bagley、Irwin Lachman和Ronald Lewis博士发明了汽车排放控制用蜂窝状陶瓷载体,该载体现已成为全球车用催化转化器的标准。

1982

1982

有源矩阵液晶显示屏(LCD)研究实验室发现,普通玻璃的精度、稳定度或耐用度无法达到制作液晶屏的要求。康宁熔融工艺生产的玻璃超出了他们的预期,无需打磨和抛光。

2000

2000

为了帮助显示器制造商不断提高性能,康宁开发了一种超低密度的玻璃成分,将LCD的性能提升到了新的高度。康宁的EAGLE玻璃系列产品具有重量超轻和分辨率高的特点,使显示屏更薄,尺寸更大,从而推动了液晶电视的普及。

2004

2004

随着消费者对家庭网络的速度和连接性的期望不断提升,电信供应商也需要采用更好的网络连接解决方案。康宁推出的OptiTap®连接器,使光纤到户安装变得更快、更简单并且降低了成本,从而为物联网奠定了基础。

2007

2007

康宁的科学家开发了一款对行业具有革命性意义的光纤,这款光纤可以弯曲90度并且从最大限度上减少信号损耗。ClearCurve®光纤为极具挑战性的安装环境提供了可靠的高速连接,包括公寓、数据中心和企业等场所的网络。

2007

2007

药品研究人员和生产商利用康宁的HYPER技术产品来提高效率。通过应用在表面技术领域的专业技术和知识,康宁开发了一种高性能产品,能够在有限的空间内培养大量的贴壁细胞。

2007

2007

一家大型科技公司在为备受期待的智能手机发布进行准备时,认为现有的盖板材料不能满足其对美观和耐用性的要求。为此,康宁开发了康宁®大猩猩®玻璃,这款玻璃具有轻薄和抗刮擦的特点,有助于移动设备经受日常生活的严峻考验。

2012

2012

康宁善于打破传统,开发了一款超薄的柔性玻璃。Willow® Glass比一张壹美元的纸币更薄,开拓了众多全新的应用领域,从软性显示器到用于内部设计的玻璃层板,以及卷到卷生产等新的玻璃加工工艺。

2013

2013

康宁制造了世界上第一块抗菌盖板玻璃。通过帮助抑制导致污渍和造成异味的细菌的生长,具有抗菌性能的康宁®大猩猩®玻璃为智能手机和其他触控设备带来了附加价值,并且为医疗保健、餐饮服务和其他抗菌要求高的玻璃表面开启了全新可能。

2013

2013

在酒店和会议中心这些人员密集环境中,通信连接已经从一种便利性提升至必需性。康宁通过Optical Network Evolution(光纤网络演进)提供多种内部有线、无线和蜂窝服务,这种基于光纤的网络可以在单一简化的基础设施上提供面向未来的连通性。

2015

2015

随着消费者对款式和性能的要求越来越高,康宁助推了汽车行业的创新。用于汽车行业的Corning Gorilla Glass可以带来具有光学优势的车窗,并为消费者提供美观且堪比手机一样智能的仪表盘和中控台等内饰显示技术。

2015

2015

康宁继续为美国宇航局的新视野号航行任务提供关键技术,帮助解开太空之谜。康宁的光学机械装置里包含三块高精度镜面,帮助捕捉冥王星有史以来的第一张细节图像。

2015

2015

由于客户需要更薄和更光滑的边缘光显示器,康宁开发了一种用于替代传统聚合物导光板的产品,不仅易于弯曲,还可以增加体积。Corning Iris® Glass凭借高传输能力和优异的尺寸稳定性,使制造商可以生产与智能手机一样纤薄的高亮度的电视机和显示屏。

2016

2016

智能手表和健身追踪器点燃了科技市场,但也让触控表面的日常使用次数达到了新高度。康宁®大猩猩®玻璃SR+为可穿戴技术提供了卓越的抗刮擦特性。

2016

2016

如今汽油动力乘用车对发动机性能和燃油效率的要求更高,但会在尾气排放中产生颗粒物。康宁继续保持着在清洁空气技术方面的领先地位,推出了一系列汽油颗粒物过滤器,以减少这些有害排放。Corning® DuraTrap® GC过滤器可以帮助汽车制造商满足更加严格的空气质量要求,同时不会影响发动机性能。

2017

2017

尽管在药品配方和加工领域取得了许多进展,但自19世纪末以来,药品包装技术并没有大的突破。康宁为21世纪的药品提供了21世纪的玻璃包装解决方案。Corning Valor® Glass可以显著减少颗粒物污染、破损和开裂,同时大大增加了产量,助力保护患者的生命安全并改善制药行业的生产工艺。

今天

在康宁,我们致力于通过创新改变世界。

我们的创新硕果累累,永无止境。

探索不止,攻坚克难,改变未来。

自1851年以来,我们坚持创新,始终如一。

探索更多
点击和拖拉鼠标进行更多探索
历史与创新
历史与创新

自1851年起,用玻璃和材料科技改善我们的生活

更多信息
移动消费电子产品
移动消费电子产品

为移动设备创造新一代纤薄、坚韧的玻璃

更多信息
显示科技
显示科技

通过创新的显示科技,创造更丰富的娱乐体验

更多信息
汽车
汽车

使汽车更洁净、更安全且更加互联

更多信息
生命科学器皿
生命科学器皿

为实现改变生活、拯救生命提供创新解决方案

更多信息

Improving our world through glass and materials science since 1851

Overview

For more than 165 years, Corning has been solving tough problems and improving people’s lives with glass and materials science.

Our innovations have made the air cleaner, helped information travel faster, enabled new discoveries in science and medicine, and transformed the way we interact with our environment … and each other.

Here is our story.

1851

Recognizing the value of glass as a building material, merchant Amory Houghton Sr. opens a small glass company in Somerville, Massachusetts. In a quest to improve access to raw materials and transportation, the company relocates briefly to Brooklyn and then Corning, New York, where it transforms the agricultural town into a center of glass innovation. Known for more than 100 years as Corning Glass Works, the company is ultimately renamed Corning Incorporated to reflect its high-tech focus and global reach.

1877

Standard railroad lenses require ridges to focus the light, but collect grime that dims the signal, resulting in frequent accidents. Corning designs a revolutionary lens with a smooth exterior, earning the company its first patent and ongoing business with the railroads. Corning later improves safety even more with colored lenses that increase visibility and low-expansion glass that resists shattering.

1879

Corning helps make electric light a reality by developing a glass encasement for Thomas Edison’s carbon filament. Corning later invents an economical way to mass-produce the bulbs, making them affordable for the general population.

1915

Dr. Jesse Littleton, a Corning physicist, asks his wife Bessie to bake a cake in a heat-resistant glass jar. The unconventional, yet successful, experiment leads to PYREX® glass, creating a successful line of highly durable cookware and industry-leading laboratory products.

1932

While tinkering in the lab, organic chemist Dr. J. Franklin Hyde develops high-purity fused silica – the foundation for numerous innovations from telescope mirrors to 3D sensing components in mobile phones.

1934

Corning synthesizes the first silicone resins, which have broad applications, including adhesives, sealants, and lubricants. The innovation leads to the 1943 formation of Dow Corning, a joint venture that endures for more than 70 years.

1935

Corning produces a 200-inch mirror blank for the Hale Telescope at Mount Palomar – the world’s largest piece of glass at the time. The innovation helps astronomers determine that the universe is made up of billions of galaxies. Corning later goes on to produce mirrors for the Hubble, Gemini, and Subaru telescopes.

1939

Corning’s 9-inch circular cathode-ray tube is featured at the World’s Fair in New York City as part of RCA’s futuristic demonstration of television. Within the decade, Corning invents a process to mass-produce TV picture tubes, helping to make televisions affordable for millions.

1952

A serendipitous mistake leads Dr. S. Donald Stookey to invent a material that withstands extreme temperature changes and doesn’t break when dropped. The discovery leads to CorningWare® cookware and a new family of materials: glass ceramics.

1961

Corning helps propel the first Americans safely into space by supplying heat-resistant windows for Project Mercury. Corning goes on to create window glass for every manned American spacecraft and the International Space Station.

1964

Corning scientists Stuart Dockerty and Clint Shay develop the fusion overflow process, which produces remarkably flat, pristine glass. This method later becomes the manufacturing process for Corning’s liquid-crystal display (LCD) glasses, Corning® Gorilla® Glass, and other industry-shaping glass innovations.

1970

Telephone systems are strained, and carriers look for ways to increase capacity. Drs. Donald Keck, Robert Mauer, and Peter Schultz develop the first low-loss optical fiber and usher in a communications revolution.

1972

Automakers have a tight deadline to meet tough new regulations established by the 1970 Clean Air Act. Corning scientists Dr. Rodney Bagley, Dr. Irwin Lachman, and Ronald Lewis help them comply by developing a cellular ceramic substrate that forms the heart of the catalytic converter and remains the worldwide standard today.

1982

Research labs working on active matrix LCDs determine that ordinary glass is not precise, stable, or durable enough to handle the complex circuitry. Corning’s fusion process produces glass that exceeds their expectations and eliminates the need for grinding and polishing.

2000

In its quest to continually enhance attributes for display makers, Corning develops an extremely low-density glass composition that takes LCDs to places previously unimagined. Combining exceptionally light weight with high resolution, Corning’s EAGLE Glass product line enables thinner displays and larger sizes, helping drive the proliferation of LCD TVs.

2004

As consumers demand greater speed and connectivity in their home environments, telecom providers need better ways to build access networks. Corning responds with OptiTap® connectors, which make fiber-to-the-home installations faster, easier, and less costly – laying the foundation for the Internet of Things.

2007

Corning scientists develop an industry-changing optical fiber that can bend at 90-degree angles with minimal signal loss. ClearCurve® fiber brings robust, high-speed connections to challenging installation environments, including apartment buildings, data centers, and enterprise networks.

2007

Drug researchers and producers boost their efficiency with Corning’s HYPER technology products. By applying its expertise in surface technology, Corning creates a high-performance, high-yield product to grow large quantities of adherent cells in a small, compact space.

2007

While gearing up for a highly anticipated smartphone launch, a major tech company determines that the existing cover material does not meet its requirements for beauty and durability. Corning answers the call with Corning® Gorilla® Glass, an exceptionally thin, lightweight, and damage-resistant glass that helps mobile devices withstand the rigors of everyday life.

2012

Defying conventional wisdom, Corning develops a glass that’s ultrathin and flexible. Slimmer than a dollar bill, Willow® Glass creates mind-bending possibilities, from conformable displays to glass laminates for interior design to new glass processing techniques such as roll-to-roll manufacturing.

2013

Corning creates the world’s first antimicrobial cover glass. By helping to suppress the growth of stain- and odor-causing bacteria, Antimicrobial Corning® Gorilla® Glass adds value to smartphones and other touch devices, while opening new possibilities for glass surfaces in healthcare, food service, and other microbe-sensitive environments.

2013

Connectivity in dense environments like hotels and convention centers evolves from being an amenity to a necessity. Corning enables multiple in-building wireline, wireless, and cellular services with the Optical Network Evolution, a fiber-based network that delivers future-ready connectivity over a single, simplified infrastructure.

2015

As consumers demand higher levels of style and performance, Corning helps drive innovation in the auto industry. Gorilla Glass for Automotive enables optically advantaged windows, as well as sleek dashboards and consoles with the sophisticated capabilities consumers have come to expect from their smartphones.

2015

Corning continues to help unlock the mysteries of space by supplying critical technology for NASA’s New Horizons mission. Corning’s opto-mechanical assembly houses three high-precision mirrors that help capture the first-ever detailed images of Pluto.

2015

As customers demand slimmer and sleeker edge-lit monitors, Corning develops an alternative to conventional polymer light-guide plates, which are prone to warping and can add bulk. Featuring high transmission and outstanding dimensional stability, Corning Iris™ Glass enables manufacturers to produce bright TVs and monitors as slim as smartphones.

2016

Smartwatches and fitness trackers ignite the tech market, but subject touch surfaces to new levels of daily abuse. Corning steps up with Corning® Gorilla® Glass SR+, featuring exceptional scratch resistance for wearable technologies.

2016

Contemporary gasoline-powered passenger vehicles offer higher standards in engine performance and fuel efficiency, but release particulate matter in their exhaust. Continuing its leadership in clean-air technologies, Corning introduces a range of gasoline particulate filters to reduce these harmful emissions. Corning® DuraTrap® GC filters help automakers meet tighter air-quality standards without compromising performance.

2017

Despite numerous advances in drug formulations and processing, pharmaceutical packaging remains largely unchanged since the late 19th century. Corning responds with a 21st century glass packaging solution for 21st century drugs. Corning Valor® Glass dramatically reduces particle contamination, breaks, and cracks, while significantly increasing throughput. As a result, Valor Glass helps protect patients and improve pharmaceutical manufacturing.

Today

At Corning, we are committed to life-changing innovation.

Our track record is long, but our vision is infinite.

We’ll keep solving tough problems. We’ll keep transforming industries. We’ll keep enhancing people’s lives.

We’ve been at it since 1851 … and we’re just getting started.

Explore more